BROMSGROVE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MEETING OF THE ELECTORAL MATTERS COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, 18TH NOVEMBER 2009 AT 5.00 P.M.

PRESENT: Councillors Mrs. J. M. Boswell, Mrs. R. L. Dent, Mrs. A. E. Doyle,

J. T. Duddy, Mrs. J. M. L. A. Griffiths, Ms. H. J. Jones and L. J. Turner

Observers: Councillor S. P. Shannon

Officers: Mrs. S. Mould and Mr. A. C. Stephens

1/09 **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs. J. M. L. A. Griffiths be elected Chairman of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

2/09 **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN**

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs. R. L. Dent be elected Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

3/09 **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. McGrath, D. L. Pardoe and R. D. Smith.

4/09 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

No declarations of interest were received.

5/09 **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Electoral Matters Committee held on 18th November 2008 were submitted.

RESOLVED that the minutes be approved as a correct record.

6/09 ANNUAL POLLING STATION REVIEW

Consideration was given to a report which detailed the annual review of polling stations within the district, in compliance with The Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places (Parliamentary Elections) Regulations 2006.

The Committee noted the requests received from both Bentley Pauncefoot Parish Council and Blackwell Methodist Church for alternative venues to be

Electoral Matters Committee 18th November 2009

used as polling stations in respect of the polling districts referred to in the report.

RESOLVED that the review of polling districts and places, as detailed in Appendix 1 to the report, be approved and adopted.

7/09 **POLLING DISTRICT CODES**

Consideration was given to a report which detailed amendments to six of the codes used to represent the polling districts in the Charford Ward and the Marlbrook Ward.

<u>RESOLVED</u> that the revised list of polling district codes, as detailed in Appendix 1 to the report, be approved.

The meeting closed at 5.10 p.m.

Chairman